Come and Have Breakfast

IMG_0646for Sunday, April 14, 2013
3rd Sunday of Easter
lectionary focus: Psalm 30; John 21:1-19
inspiration: THE VERY HUNGRY

Happy Easter!
(If you used last week’s sermon start this week with, The Peace of Christ be with you! And the children reply, And also with you!)

I am not a morning person. This means that I do not like to get out of bed in the morning. I would rather sleep late. But to be at work on time, I have to get up kind of early and that is hard for me to do.

At least it was hard for me to do until I looked at today’s Bible story. In today’s story, the disciples are still wondering about the events of the first Easter. In the evening, Peter has talked them all into going fishing…cause that a good thing to do when you are confused and overwhelmed. After a long night of not catching any fish…which is not always the point of fishing…they see Jesus on the shore. Jesus calls to the disciples, saying, “Come and have breakfast.” What an invitation! What a way to start the day! What a joy in the morning for them!

Sometimes the night can seem so long. When I have problems or things are tough or I just want to sleep a little bit longer, everything can seem as dark as the night. But this story reminds me that each day we live for Jesus and we live with Jesus. I can get up and have breakfast with Jesus…just as the disciples did long ago. By starting my day this way, saying some prayers over my bowl of cereal, the joy and mystery of Easter comes every morning. I can put away the confusions and frustrations and anything that is in the past. I can start each day knowing that Jesus will be with me, and I can go and share God’s love. “Come and have breakfast.” Getting out bed may still be hard, but what a great way to start the day!

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it back.)

Good morning God!
Thank You for today.
Thank You for being with me
this morning,
today,
this evening,
and forever.
Amen

We are not Christians alone.
My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

4 responses to “Come and Have Breakfast

  1. ” In the evening, Peter has talked them all into going fishing…cause that a good thing to do when you are confused and overwhelmed.” That is one of the more brilliant things I’ve ever read. I sort of want it on a sign in my office. As always, thank you so much for writing, for your mission, and for your company on the journey!

    • Thanks Katie. Our parish associate Joe Geneau preached last fall on Peter and fishing, and my dad loves to cast a line…makes me think that Peter and the Gang didn’t fish just for work. (And I always love reading your blog!)

  2. I agree with the above AND I love when you said that catching fish isn’t always the point of going fishing. Thank-you again for your ministry…it is such a treat to find something inspiring here each week.
    Jenn Swanson

    • Thanks Jenn. I think those fishing lines are really for the adults, but it is good to slip in a few of those so that they might grow into comforting thoughts later in life. Glad you are on the steps with us.

I wonder what you think of this story?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.