I’m His Favorite–and So Are You!

Feb 12, 2012
6th Sunday in Ordinary Time
6th Sunday after Epiphany
St. Valentine’s Day
lectionary focus: 1 Corinthians 9:24-27; Mark 1:40-41
props: Valentines to give to the children

Good morning!

Have you heard that this is an election year? This means that all over our country we will be choosing our leaders: mayors of cities, governors of states, leaders in Congress, and the President of our country. We have many leaders, but in each election there is only winner. Just like there is only one winner in many games. Last week was Super Bowl XLVI won by the (Giants or Patriots?). With elections and games, it is not always that one person or team is so much better than the other, it’s just that in some events there can be only one winner.

This week Tuesday is St. Valentine’s Day–and I am thankful that I don’t have to choose just one Valentine! Everyone in my family, everyone at my school, everyone in my neighborhood, everyone in my old neighborhood…can be my Valentine. I don’t have to pick one favorite. Just like we can have more than one best friend, we can have more than one Valentine. Oh…some of you may want to argue: more than one best friend? No way! Yes way–God’s way. I wonder if God would give just one Valentine? I wonder if God would have just one best friend? I wonder if God would have a favorite? No. Simply put: God loves each and all of us and not one more than any other. Therefore, let us rejoice in His love and use this St. Valentine’s Day to let our friends know that they are each our best friend, our best Valentine, and we are thankful for their friendship!

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it.)

Dear Lord,
Thank You
for being our Valentine.
Thank You
that we are Your Valentines.
Help me
to let my friends know
that they can each be
my best friend.
Amen

We are not Christians alone. My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

2 responses to “I’m His Favorite–and So Are You!

  1. I like this spirit. God does elect, the Good News is he has not chosen one individual or nation; rather he sent his beloved son out like a good shepherd to go after the 1 in 100 who is lost.
    Peace to you

    • Hey John! Good to hear from you again. Thanks for your affirming words. The Good Shepherd is one of my favorite images of Christ because so often I feel like a lost sheep…and sheep can be so very stupid. The Peace of Christ also with you.

I wonder what you think of this story?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.