Borrow His Smile

for Sunday, February 5, 2012
5th Sunday after Epiphany
5th Sunday in Ordinary Time
lectionary focus: Psalm 147: 1-11, 20c
inspiration: Click on the PLAY button to hear the song that inspired this message:

Hi. How are y’all?

This past week I had a bad day and I was kinda down: the newspaper didn’t come; the shower water was cold; I got toothpaste on my favorite shirt; my socks didn’t match;  someone parked in my parking space; I lost my favorite pen; the groundhog saw his shadow; they put cheese on my sandwich; the book I wanted was checked out of the library; it was too rainy to go for a run; and the cat got sick on the floor. Everything went wrong that day. I felt like I was trapped in that book Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. And I didn’t want to be down.
So I called my friend, and you know what he said? He said that it sounded like I needed to borrow God’s smile.

The Bible is full of stories where God gives His love–where He makes people smile. And today our psalmist says, “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.”
God gives each of us a reason to live–so we should live it.
God has given each of us something to give–so we should give it.
And when times are tough, we should not be overwhelmed. Because God is there with us. Knowing that makes me smile. And smiling makes the day better. You know how at night, we can see the stars in the sky? But did you know that they are there even when the clouds hide them? In the same way, God is always there to let us borrow His smile. All we have to do is ask, and we will receive.

Some days things go wrong. Some days are terrible, horrible, no good, very bad days. And those days, we are down. But God is there with us. He is down with us. And when we need Him, God has plenty of smiles to give to us…

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it.)

Dear Lord,
Thank You
for being with us.
Thank You
for letting us
borrow Your smile.
Help me
to share Your smile
with those around me.
Amen

We are not Christians alone. My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

2 responses to “Borrow His Smile

  1. you are saving my life every Sunday – not really my life, but my Time with Youth! I find your stories inspired and very appropriate for youth – and adults! food for thought! THANKS!!!

    • I am glad that you are finding help and inspiration here. But the real thanks goes to you for sharing God’s love with your youth. Giving them a firm foundation will keep them forever wrapped in a coat of love, love, love. Amen.

I wonder what you think of this story?

