The Sacred Power of Sacred Sight

wonderfor Sunday, September 29, 2013
26th Sunday in Ordinary Time
19th Sunday after Pentecost
Proper 21
Year C
lectionary focus: Luke 16:19-31
props: Superhero dolls or pictures

Good morning!

Today I brought some Superhero dolls. You recognize Superman and Wonder Woman and Batman and Storm and … I like to think about what super power I would have if I were a Superhero. I can’t decide between being able to fly or being able to be invisible. I think it would be cool to fly off in the sky like a bird whenever I wanted! But then I also think it would be neat to be invisible and move around with no one knowing I was there!  While it is fun to imagine having super powers, we know that they are just imaginary and we cannot have super powers like these action figures.

But…we do have sacred powers given to us by God. Sacred means holy, and some of the many holy powers that God has given to us are hope, faith, and love. With these sacred powers: hope, faith, and love, we do God’s work. But there is another sacred power we are given: the power of sacred sight. Sight is seeing with our eyes…we look around and we see. But sometimes our eyes don’t see things right in front of us; and sometimes we ignore seeing things that are right in front of us. Sacred sight is when we see with our hearts. When we look at people with our hearts, we can really see them and we don’t ignore them. Looking with our hearts, we can see all of a person’s needs and wants, the happy things and the sad things in their lives; we can see that they are just like ourselves; we can see them as children of God. And when we see other people as children of God, we are easily able to share our other sacred powers of hope, faith, and love. Through the power of sacred sight, we can strengthen God’s community and make the world a more beautiful place.

In our Bible story today, Jesus reminds us to use this power of sacred sight. Just like any skill, we need to practice it. We need to use it to improve it. So open your eyes wide right now…look out at there in the congregation…I bet you can see someone who needs a wave or a smile. Over there! Wave to Mama Nell! And over there, smile at all the big teenagers. And give the choir a big wave, too. Sacred sight is all about looking at people, looking right into their eyeballs, and seeing them to be children of God just like you are.

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it.)

Dear Lord,
Thank You
for my holy power
of sacred sight.
Help me
to see others
as Your children.
Help me
to share Your love.
Amen

We are not Christians alone.
My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

I wonder what you think of this story?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.