One Sound

for Sunday, September 23, 2012
25th Sunday in Ordinary Time,
17th Sunday after Pentecost
Proper 20
lectionary focus: Mark 9:30-37
props: your organist and organ

Good Morning!

I love the big sound our organ makes when we sing hymns and hear anthems. Miss Pat does a great job working all of those notes into songs. The other day I talked to Miss Pat about the organ and how it does what it does. She showed me all the keys and stops and pedals and pipes. I asked her, “Of all the sounds from the organ, which one is the greatest?” She was delighted to play me some of her favorites…like the lowest note (have organist play) and the highest note (have organist play) and a G-minor chord (have organist play) and the clarion (have organist play). They all do sound very nice. But I think Middle C is probably the greatest of all the sounds (have organist play). Yes. Middle C is even and strong and rich and beautiful. Simply lovely. So listen as Miss Pat has Middle C play my favorite hymn “Joyful, Joyful.” (Have organist play the rhythm of the first few measures of Joyful, Joyful but using only the Middle C note.)

Hum. That is a great note, but that doesn’t quite sound like “Joyful, Joyful,” does it? It sounds like something is missing. It sounds like a lot of somethings are missing. So for all of its greatness, can Middle C be THE greatest? Can we say that ONE sound is greatest? No. You heard it. It is ridiculous to say that one sound could be the greatest.

But what about people? What about us? Who of us is the greatest?

Our Bible story today tells us that no one of us is the greatest. No one of us alone can do it all perfectly. Just as each of the sounds of the organ bring their strength and beauty and work together to make music, each of us as God’s people bring our gifts and work together to make the world beautiful.

God is not looking for one of us to be the greatest. God is looking for us to work together to help each other do great things.

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it.)

Dear Lord,
Thank You
for loving me.
Help me
to help others
so together
we can do
great things for You.
Amen

We are not Christians alone.
My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

I wonder what you think of this story?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.