We See His Love

windowtreefor Sunday, April 27, 2014
2nd Sunday of Easter
Year A
lectionary focus: John 20:19-31

Welcome!

The other day I was working at my computer. I stopped to think for a few minutes and found myself staring out the window. I can see a big tree from there. Its leaves are new and just unfolded. As I watched, it looked like the tree was dancing! The branches were swaying slightly and the leaves were wiggling, popping up and down and all around. Now, we know that the tree was not dancing. We know that the branches and leaves were being moved by the wind. And yet, we can see the tree and leaves, but we cannot see the wind. We know the wind is there by seeing what the wind does.

Today is the Second Sunday of Easter. Alleluia! (Alleluia!) The mystery and joy of Easter are so great that we cannot celebrate it all in just one Sunday. In our Bible story today, Jesus is risen from the dead and has been visiting with the disciples. But one disciple was not there: Thomas. We don’t know exactly why he wasn’t there, but we do hear that  when the disciples told Thomas about seeing Jesus, Thomas had some trouble believing. The mystery and joy of Easter was too great for him. He wanted to see Jesus, too. He wanted to touch Him. The Bible story goes on that Thomas does get to see Jesus. Jesus is not angry or disappointed that Thomas hesitated to believe the others; Jesus simply reaches out to Thomas, saying, “Do not doubt but believe.” I have felt like Thomas. How nice it would be to see Jesus walk into my house. How nice to touch Him and hear His voice.

But when I think about the wind, I know I don’t have to see Jesus to believe. Just as I know the wind is there by seeing what the wind does, I look around for what Jesus does. All of the things around us: smiling people, flowers, the blue sky, sunshine, rain, friends, doughnuts, family, ways for us to help others, singing, a phone call, a good book, learning, laughing, loving; all of these things show us that we don’t need to see Jesus. We see His world. We see His love. We see Jesus by seeing what His love does. Jesus simply reaches out to us through all that is around us, saying, “Believe.”

Our Lord, our God. He is with us. He is in us. His love is our world. Let us continue to rejoice in the mystery and joy of Easter.

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it.)

Dear Lord,
Thank You
that we see Your love
all around us.
Help us
to help others
see Your love
all around them.
Amen

We are not Christians alone.
My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

I wonder what you think of this story?

