Lenten Series 2013 There’s a Prayer for That…He Will Provide the Way

IMG_3532for Sunday, March 3, 2013
3rd Sunday in Lent
lectionary focus: Psalm 63:1-8; 1 Corinthians 10:1-13
prop: a list of people you know who need help
Note: If you are not doing this Lenten Series, no worries…you can adapt Paragraph Three to make this a stand alone sermon.

Good Morning!

Today I have a list. I’m all about some lists. On this list, I have:
1) My mom has a new phone.
2) My friend Tammy has a farm and recently one of her sheep was very sick.
3) Zach got a new student in his class this past week.
4) It’s time to prune my Grandmother’s roses.
5) The church refrigerator is broken.
6) Kristen and Jon just had a baby boy named Will.
7) My daughter has a big test and a project due on the same day this week.
and 8) I am doing the children’s sermon today.

I wonder if you can tell what all of the people on this list have in common…if you can tell what is the same about these people on my list. … Each of these people needs help: help with a new phone; help healing a sick sheep; making friends; gardening; to fix things; taking care of children; to study; help with sharing. That’s a lot of help. But every day, everybody needs some help. None of us can do every thing by ourselves.

We are now in the Season of Lent. As we prepare for the Joy and Mystery of Easter, we have been looking at different kinds of prayers. Prayer is how we get close to God. We’ve talked about prayers to Thank God and prayers to let God know we are scared. I guess you can figure out what kind of prayer we’re discussing today: prayers when you need help.

Our Bible story today tells us to seek God for God gives us help and will provide a way to the solution. Each of those people on my list is seeking God’s help. They are praying for help. When you have a problem, you can pray to God and ask for His help. God loves each of us and God wants to help each of us. And He helps us in many ways: through family, friends, or repairmen; or by helping us figure it out; or by just being with us and giving us comfort. When we pray to God asking for help, we open ourselves to be closer to God. When we pray to God asking for help, we are strengthened and can face all of our problems, responsibilities, adventures, and joys with a bold and confident heart.

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it back.)

Dear Lord,
I need Your help.
Help me
solve problems,
work hard,
and share Your love.
Thank You
for helping me.
Amen

Dear Lord, Thank You for helping me do this sermon. Amen

We are not Christians alone.
My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

I wonder what you think of this story?

