Bright, Shiny Faces

smilefor Sunday, February 10, 2013
Transfiguration of the Lord Sunday
Year C
lectionary focus: Exodus 34:29-35; Luke 9:28-36
(see also Retreat and Go Forth / Transfiguration Sunday Year B)

Good Morning!

When I was a kid, we had a little chant we would say in school:

We are all in our places
With bright shiny faces.

We are all in our places meant that we were each doing our part in the classroom. With bright shiny faces meant that we were each smiling and our minds and eyes were open and we were ready and excited learn.

In our Bible story today, we hear about shiny faces. In the Old Testament story, Moses goes to the top of the mountain to talk with God and comes back with a shiny face; the Israelites were amazed. In the New Testament story, Jesus and His friends go to the top of the mountain and Jesus shines with the Glory of God; Jesus’s friend Peter thinks this shiny excitement is so great that he suggests they stay on top of the mountain forever!

When we come to church, we too are all in our places. And our faces are bright and shiny as we are excited to learn about God and as we rejoice that God is with us. And yes, it would be great to stay in church forever. But God fills us with His love in order that we might go into the world and share His love. We are called to be in our places in the world shining with God’s bright love.

So as we go forth this week, share God’s love with a bright shiny face…smiling with bright, excited eyes that others might also be excited and filled with the Glory of the Lord.

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it.)

Dear Lord,
We are all in our places
with bright shiny faces.
Help us
to share Your Glory
with big smiles
and excited eyes
in all our places
in the world.
Amen

We are not Christians alone.
My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

7 responses to “Bright, Shiny Faces

  1. Wondering if you have any thoughts (or series) on how to do Children’s messages during Lent, how to mark this special season in a way children can understand.

    • Thanks for your wondering. I’ve been wondering, too! I’m thinking of focusing on Lent as a Time of Prayer…possibly something like There’s a Prayer for that…I will see where the Spirit (and other comments) lead us. Any ideas?

  2. I recently found your site and it’s been tremendously helpful for the children’s church I teach so we can follow the lectionary. I’m wondering if you have suggested activities to go with these or do you know of a site that might have some? I have smaller students- 3-7 mostly. Thanks!

  3. I’m grateful for your ministry and your blog post. I’m a youth pastor that is terrified of children’s sermons so my Senior Pastor makes me do them 🙂 it’s really not bad, but I am grateful to read your post and let the ideas bounce around in my mind and inspire me. Thank you.
    Jakob

I wonder what you think of this story?

