The Outfit of Love

for Sunday, October 28, 2012
30th Sunday in Ordinary Time
22nd Sunday after Pentecost
Proper 25
(Halloween!)
lectionary focus: Mark 10:46-52

Good morning!

I’m excited about Halloween on Wednesday! I enjoy looking at all the kids coming to my door dressed up for Trick or Treat. Sometimes the kids are so well covered up that I can’t see who they are! I like trying to recognize you kids in the costumes you are wearing. It is fun pretending to be these fancy characters.

Our Bible story today get me thinking about looking and seeing and recognizing. And I wonder…if I look like a Christian, if I look like someone who follows Jesus? Do Christians wear a certain costume? Do I have an outfit or a mask that makes me a Christian? Is there some special look for my hair or my face that I can wear so everyone will know that I am a Christian?

No.

Being a Christian is not about what I wear or how I look; being a Christian is about what I do.
There is a song:

They will know we are Christians by our love…

and love is what we do. Love is how we treat each other. Love is how to be a Christian.

Today’s Bible story tells about a blind man who calls out to Jesus, who recognizes Jesus as Lord even though he cannot see Him. The blind man knows Jesus because he knows what Jesus does. We, too, know what Jesus does. And when we do what we are called to do: love God and our neighbors, everyone will recognize us as Christians no matter what we are wearing. And that is a treat that is no trick!

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it.)

Dear Lord,
Thank You
for seeing me as Your child.
Help me
to do what Christians do.
Help me
to share Your love.
Amen

We are not Christians alone.
My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

2 responses to “The Outfit of Love

  1. I am sure this post has touched all the internet visitors, its really really nice
    paragraph on building up new blog.

I wonder what you think of this story?

