Selah

for Sunday, July 22, 2012
8th Sunday after Pentecost
16th Sunday in Ordinary Time
Proper 11
lectionary focus: Psalm 89:20-37
prop: a Bible

Today I have the Bible with me. Now when we let it fall open…right about in the middle…we find the Book of Psalms. These are old Hebrew songs written mostly by King David in praise of God. People like to read the Psalms. There’s lots of good poetry in the Psalms…lots of pretty words, and strong words, and delicious words. And the Psalms have one of the coolest words in the whole Bible. This word is Selah. (see-la or say-la) Can you say Selah? Selah. Good.

Now smart people argue about what this word means exactly, but they most all agree that Selah is an instruction. One translation says that Selah means “rest and think about that.” Selah tells the reader that these Psalms are not just songs. The Psalms are nuggets of wisdom. And the word Selah reminds us to pause and think about what we just read. We are called to rest and to think about that.

I think it is funny that this word appears in the Bible 74 times and all but 3 of them are in the Psalms. If we need this reminder here, what about the rest of the Bible? Don’t you think that this would be a good instruction throughout all the books in the Bible? Shouldn’t we rest and think about every story we read in there? And what outside the Bible? What about during the day as different things happen? Shouldn’t we stop and think about what is happening around us? God gave us this great brain and this great book and this great world…and therein is much for us to think about. I think we should be reminded to Selah a lot.

Today’s Psalm is Psalm 89.
And what great message are we called to rest and think about?
God’s love is steadfast. God’s love is forever.

Ah, I wonder what you think about that.

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it.)

Dear Lord,
Thank You
for Your love.
Help me
to rest
and think about Your words.
Help me
to Selah.
Amen

We are not Christians alone.
My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

4 responses to “Selah

  1. Susan Windham

    I must say I have never seen that picture before and I know the author well. The face of rest on the child and the face of joy on the father help me to picture the rest we find in God. thanks so much.

  2. This is a lovely message! Thank you!

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Book in the Bible | Nizy's Life Compendium

I wonder what you think of this story?

