Small Things

Christmas card from the Metropolitan Museum of Art–A detail from a polychromed limestone Nativity scene; French, mid-fifteenth century.

for Sunday, June 17, 2012
3rd Sunday after Pentecost
11th Sunday in Ordinary Time
Proper 6
Father’s Day
Summer Solstice
lectionary focus: 1 Samuel 15:34-16:13

Happy End of School!
Happy Father’s Day!
Happy Summer!

During June we have many celebrations, and this week, we have the longest day of the year…the summer solstice or Midsummer’s Eve. But I want you to think about another Eve, think back 6 months ago in the middle of winter to Christmas Eve. When I was a young girl, my mom got a Christmas card that showed a man kneeling before a fire holding a piece of cloth. I thought it was the weirdest Christmas card ever! But then my mom explained: this was a picture of Joseph warming a blanket for Baby Jesus. Oh! Poor old Joseph doesn’t really get a big part in our Bible stories and that card has always made me think of the little but important things that Joseph did as Jesus’ dad.

Today is Father’s Day and I am sure you can think of important things your dad and granddads do for you. And while your family may be celebrating today in a big way, our Bible stories today point out that small is big in God’s eyes. The stories remind me of some wise words said by Mother Teresa–a modern-day church leader. Mother Teresa said that we can do no great things, only small things with great love. God does not look at our size or the size of what we do. God looks at the size of the love in our hearts.

I wonder if Mother Teresa had seen that Christmas card of Joseph?
I wonder if I was on Christmas card, what would I be doing?
I wonder if you see small things with great love?

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it back.)

Dear Lord,
Thank You
for seeing small things
as important things.
Help me
to do all things
with great love.
Amen

We are not Christians alone.
My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

I wonder what you think of this story?

