What’s in a Name?

for Sunday, June 3, 2012
Trinity Sunday
lectionary focus: Psalm 29:1-11
note: I really like the Isaiah reading, but I think I will focus on the mystery of the Trinity using guidance from Worshiping with Children and the reference to David Stoddard’s story.

Good morning!

What’s my name?
Well, yes and no.
You know me as Miss Fran. But at school, I am Mrs. Woodruff. My parents call me Frannie. Most of my family calls me Frances. My husband calls me Sweetheart. My daughter calls me Mommie. My friends call me Fran, but one friend calls me Woodruff and another calls me Frankie. And then the Government calls me Frances Elizabeth Bodden Woodruff. And now you can see why my Aunt Elizabeth calls me Elizabeth. I am called by different names because different people see me in different ways. I am a teacher, a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, a cousin, a friend, a Christian, a taxpayer. I am many things, but I am one person. I am sure that you, too, have a long fancy name and then you have the names that your family and friends call you. You are one person but can be called by different names because you are sons and brothers or daughters and sisters and grandchildren and cousins and students and friends and the list goes on.

And so it is with God. In the Bible, we see that God, too, has a long fancy name: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. God is our Father, the Lord of All; God is the Son, Jesus Christ; and God is the Holy Spirit, our comfort and support. We call God by different names because He helps us in different ways. But just like you are always you no matter which of your names we call you, God is always God. And God–the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit–always loves you.

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it back.)

Dear Lord,
Dear Jesus,
Dear Holy Spirit,
Thank You
for helping me in so many way.
Thank You
that no matter my name
I am a Child of God.
Amen

We are not Christians alone.
My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

One response to “What’s in a Name?

  1. This is a GREAT example. So many times my Sunday School kids struggle with the Trinity. I’m going to save this for the next time it comes up!

I wonder what you think of this story?

