When You Grow Up

for Sunday, April 22, 2012
3rd Sunday of Easter
Earth Day
lectionary focus: 1 John 3:1-7
props: a bowl of flower seeds all mixed together; or bedding boxes with sprouts from many different flowers

Good morning! Alleluia!

Today is the third Sunday of Easter and today is also celebrated as Earth Day. A few weeks ago, I talked to you about seeds. We talked about how a seed must have a quiet period and then stop being a seed in order for it to become the plant or flower or tree that it is supposed to be. After that sermon I took all of the different seeds that I showed you and put them in one bowl. Then this past week, to celebrate Earth Day and make the world more beautiful, I went to plant the seeds. Problem is, now I’ve forgotten which seed is for which flower! I mean, I can tell the marigold and the sunflower seeds, but these other seeds look so much alike I don’t know which ones they are. And seeds don’t really look like the flowers they will become. Hum. What a great mystery? We will have to wait and see!

[Or you can start with…A few weeks ago, I got a whole bunch of seed packets to plant a flower garden. I took the seeds out and put them in the starter boxes. Problem is, I forgot to mark the boxes and the boxes got moved and even though the plants are coming up…I don’t know which sprout is which flower! None of these sprouts looks like the flowers they will become. Hum. What a great mystery? We will have to wait and see!…then adjust the next paragraph to fit sprouts instead of seed.]

These seeds remind me of our Bible story today. We don’t know which flowers these seeds will be when they grow up, but we do know that they will be flowers. When we look at each of you, we do not know what you will be when you grow up. Some of you want to be doctors or teachers or football players. But we do not know. What you will be has not been revealed. What a great mystery? We will have to wait and see! But what we do know is this: when each of you grow up, each of you will be a child…a child of God. God loves each of us so much that no matter what we ‘become’ as a grown-up, we will always be His children. You will always be a child of God.

Sometimes it can be scary not knowing what will happen to us in the future. We can have fear and worry and doubts arise in our hearts about what we will become. But the Risen Lord offers us peace for today and tomorrow. Because of the Risen Lord, no matter what we become, we will always be children of God and that puts gladness in our hearts forever.

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it.)

Dear Lord,
Alleluia!
Thank You for mysteries.
Thank You for tomorrow.
Thank You
that I will always be
a child of God
no matter what.
Help me to grow
and be the best me that I can be.
Alleluia!
Amen

We are not Christians alone.
My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

5 responses to “When You Grow Up

  1. I love this. What a beautiful message and I remember about a year ago praying to be reminded that I am a child of God – so important to share that with youngsters so that the ‘seed’ will be planted with them early on.

  2. Pingback: Children’s Funny Ideas | pickandprintgallery

  3. Pingback: Reflections: You Matter… | Mirth and Motivation

I wonder what you think of this story?

