The Address of God’s Love

For March 18, 2012
Fourth Sunday in Lent
lectionary focus: John 3:14-21
prop: Bible (a particularly fat one will illustrate this lesson best–though I suggest you read the verse with a ‘children’s translation’)

Hello!

Every place in the world has an address to help us find where in the world that place is. To find our church, we go to 850 Oxmoor Road. To find my house, we go to 617 East Hart Blvd. Knowing your address, we can find where you live. The address tells us where a place is.
But addresses are not just for houses and buildings. We use addresses in the Bible to help us find each of the many stories in this big book. And our Bible story today has one of the most famous addresses in all the world–John 3:16. This address tells us to look in the New Testament book of John, the third chapter, the sixteenth verse.
Listen to the word of the Lord:

3:16 For God loved the world so much that He gave His only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him may not die but have eternal life. (GNT)

Did you hear that? For God loved the world so much…For God loves you so much…
Over and over we talk about how much God loves us.
And here is the address–John 3:16–where we find this fact written.

It is important for you to know your address so you can always find your way home. It is important for you to know this Bible address so you can always find your way…in life, wherever you are going.
For God loves you so much.
Let us remember this address!
Repeat after me:
John
3
16
the address
of God’s love.

Will you say a prayer with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it back.)

Dear Lord,
Thank You
for John 3:16.
Help me
to know John 3:16.
Help me
to share John 3:16.
Amen

We are not Christians alone. My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

6 responses to “The Address of God’s Love

  1. I really liked the story. I am considering using it this Sunday in my Children’s Moment. Thank you!

  2. I made an envelope with the John 3:16 address, a blank stamp area and “From God” in the return address spot as an activity for Sunday’s children’s nursery time. I will use this message idea to introduce the activity.

  3. I think it’s very good — and will probably use it tomorrow!

I wonder what you think of this story?

