Wrapped or Unwrapped?

22nd Sunday after Pentecost
33rd Sunday in Ordinary Time
Proper 28
for November 13, 2011
lectionary focus: Matthew 25:14-30
prop: a wrapped present

Happy Day!

This afternoon I am going to a party. This is the present that I am taking to Patricia. Now when I give her this, do you think she will open it or do you think she will keep it wrapped up? Of course she will open it! I hope that she will use it and enjoy it. I would be sad if she just hid it away without unwrapping it.

God gives us many gifts: family, friends, happiness. He also gives each of us special gifts. You may be skilled at laughing or running or listening or solving problems. In our Bible story today, we are reminded that God wants us to use these strengths, to share them, to develop them. He would not be happy if we kept His gifts hidden away, if we did not use the talents He gives us. God has faith in you that you can use your talents to make the world better, and He calls us to risk using them boldly. Each of you are growing and realizing the gifts that God has given you. And God is so happy when you use your talents, when you share them, when you develop them.

So let us make God happy!
Let us make the world a better place!
Let us boldly open ourselves and share our God-given talents!

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer: the leader says a line and the children repeat it back.)

Dear Lord,
Thank You
for giving me gifts.
Help me
to see my talents,
to grow my talents,
to share my talents.
Amen

We are not Christians alone. My mission is to inspire, share, and encourage.

I wonder what you think of this story?

