Why Did You Bring Us Out of Egypt?

15th Sunday after Pentecost Year A
26th Sunday in Ordinary Time
Proper 21
for Sunday, September 25, 2011
lectionary focus: Exodus 17:1-7
(Note: The hardest part for the children to understand may be boredom on a car-trip. I wonder…)

Welcome!
Once upon a time when I was about your age, my family went on vacation. We were so excited! We were going to see cool things and do cool things and be free from the routine of home and school and work. We packed up the car with a tent, and food, and games, and we headed out to adventure. But the adventure was kind of a far drive away. And after awhile, it was hot. We were hungry. We were thirsty. We were bored. Are we there yet? We got whiney. She’s touching me! Ugh! Is this what vacation is? We were not happy.

But wait. Mom and Dad pointed out that as hot as we were, as hungry, and thirsty, and squished in the car…we were on vacation! Of course we had enough food and drinks and space. And what’s more, we were on an adventure, a journey to explore and discover and see and do all sorts of new and different and cool things. And yes, we did.  We had lots of fun! It was a great trip. After we remembered that we were on vacation.

In our Bible story today, Moses and the people of Israel are camping. God had Moses lead His people out of Egypt, out of slavery, and into freedom! Oh, the people were happy; they were dancing; they were singing. But going to the promised land was kind of a long trip. And after awhile, it was hot. They were hungry. They were thirsty. They were bored. Are we there yet? They got whiney. Why did you pull us out of slavery for this?

But wait. No matter how hot or hungry or thirsty or lost in the wilderness they felt, they were free! No longer were they being bossed around by Egyptian masters. God had provided them with a great journey, a great adventure, to explore and discover and build and be the nation of HIs people. And of course, God provided them with enough food and water and space. God takes care of the big things and the little things that we need. God had Moses tell the people: I will be standing there in front of you.  And the people of Israel remembered that they were free and God was among them.

Sometimes in life we can get lost in the yucky stuff. We can start feeling hot, and tired, and bored, and get whiney. It is easy to do. But we must remember the important thing: that even in those times, God is with you. God loves you. God takes care of the big and little things we need because He loves us. We are on a great adventure. God gives us all sorts of new and different and cool things to do and He is with us all the way!

Will you pray with me? (This is an echo prayer. The leader says a line and the children repeat it back.)

Dear Lord,

Thank You for adventures.

Thank You for freedom.

Thank You for always being with us.

Help me

to enjoy the adventure!

Amen

We are not Christians alone. My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

2 responses to “Why Did You Bring Us Out of Egypt?

  1. I remember a long, long car trip that was hot and long – we drove from South Carolina to San Diego. Or maybe it was to Texas and we flew from there to San Diego? Now I’m not exactly sure.

    What I do remember is the entire journey I coveted the ability of one of our friends on the journey: he could whistle with an ear-piercing shriek. And so, the entire journey I wanted to do that. I huffed and puffed and slobbered over my fingers for thousands of miles. I imagine I was a completely charming travel companion.

    I remember little of the journey (aside from the huffing, puffing, and slobbering and also that I read “Tom Sawyer” for the first time, and that journey seemed more real than the one I was on) except when we rounded the corner back into South Carolina I suddenly came out with an ear-piercing shriek.

    This is, of course, one of my spiritual gifts. In disorganized large groups of people you can see my husband and children move way out of earshot because they know it’s coming: the ear-piercing shriek and the utter humiliation that comes when it’s your wife/mother creating the noise…..

    Which has little to do with your story this week, but it’s part of mine!

  2. Thanks so much for taking the time to “like” my post! It’s greatly appreciated. 🙂

I wonder what you think of this story?

