Waiting for a Peach

10th Sunday after Pentecost RCL Year A
21st Sunday in Ordinary Time
Proper 16
lectionary focus: Exodus 1:8-2:10; Psalm 124:1-8; Romans 12:1-8; Matthew 16:13-20 or none at all
prop: a fresh peach

Good morning! Happy August 21st!

This is a peach. In the summertime, I love to eat fresh peaches. They taste like sunshine to me.

But have you ever gone to eat a peach and when you picked it up, it felt hard? Too hard to eat? The peach was just not soft enough–it wasn’ t ripe. Or as my grandmother would say, it wasn’t fit. But when you want a peach, you want a peach. And so sometimes, I’ve gone ahead and tried to eat it. BIG MISTAKE! Instead of sunshine, it tasted like hard, yellow plastic. And once you’ve bitten into a peach too early, there’s no saving it. I should have waited. But it is hard to wait.

We have several good Bible stories today, but when I went to prepare my sermon, I had a hard time figuring out what I wanted to say. I thought about the stories; I thought about what to say; it was hard. Then I started to run out of time; it was almost today; what was I going to do? I prayed to God to help me! I decided to sit down and stay at my desk until I finished my sermon. I tried one thing–didn’t like it. I tried something else–didn’t like it either. This was too hard! Finally after a couple of hours and no sermon, I took a break. I went into the kitchen to get…a peach. And guess what? The peach was hard–too hard to be eaten. I knew if I wanted to enjoy that peach I would have to wait.

And then I realized, sometimes, that is God’s answer to our prayers–we must wait.

Everything has its perfect moment, and we can’t force it to happen, no matter how much we want it, or it won’t be good. Yes, waiting is hard–whether we are waiting
for a good idea,
or for something fun,
or to be big enough,
or to be old enough,
or to be strong enough,
or just to eat a delicious peach.

But when we do listen to God and we wait until we are fit, it will be great. Just like sunshine.

Will you pray with me?
(This is an echo prayer: leader says a line and children repeat it back.)

Dear Lord,
Thank You
for hard peaches.
Thank You
for perfect peaches.
Thank You
that everything has its time.
Help me to wait
for the best time.
Amen.

Thank you, children. Now go forth and share God’s love.

We are not Christians alone. My mission is to share, inspire, and encourage.

2 responses to “Waiting for a Peach

  1. I like this story. It is such a good practical analogy. Good job.

I wonder what you think of this story?

